Sky Bet has quietly taken over the UK gambling industry. It leads the way in innovation, and outstrips giants such as William Hill and Ladbrokes Coral in terms of revenue.

Of all its recent innovations, RequestABet has proved to be particularly impressive, sparking a wave of industry imitators.

This is supported by real-time promotions, crowd-boosted accumulators, and personalised programmatic marketing.

The company has also become a lot more adventurous since its 2014 acquisition by CVC Capital Partners, expanding into the German and Italian markets.

This operational progress has been matched by impressive revenue growth.

Sports betting revenue was up 46 per cent to £314m in its 2017 financial year. The company is led by an impressive management team, with CEO Richard Flint and tech chief Andy Burton the leading lights.

It has also significantly invested in new tech hubs and recruitment programmes in the north of England, ensuring it has a positive impact on its local community.

Sky Bet has pushed itself into the top of the sports betting vertical. Few would disagree that this award is richly deserved.



GIA 2018 Winners:

Poker operator of the year - PokerStars
Bingo operator of the year - Stride Gaming
Casino operator of the year - PokerStars Casino
Social casino operator of the year - Aristocrat Leisure
Lottery operator of the year - La Française des Jeux
One to watch – operator award - VideoSlots
Operator innovation award - The Stars Group - Stars Rewards
eSports operator of the year - Pinnacle
Marketing campaign of the year - LeoVegas -
Social casino supplier of the year - Scientific Games
Sports betting supplier of the year - SBTech
Poker supplier of the year - Playtech
Bingo supplier of the year - Playtech
Marketing solutions provider of the year - Beehive 
Casino supplier of the year - NetEnt
Game of the year - Playtech - Age of the Gods
Supplier innovation award - Scientific Games OneVoice
Lottery supplier of the year - Scientific Games
One to watch – supplier award - Red Tiger Gaming
eSports supplier of the year - Betgenius
Responsible gambling operator of the year - NO ONE