UK-listed betting and gaming operator Betfair has added former Informa CEO Peter Rigby to its board of directors, with long-serving directors Mike McTighe and Fru Hazlitt stepping down.

Rigby joins having left his role at publishing and conference business Informa plc at the end of last year, having first joined the company in 1983, and served as chief executive since 1988. During his time with the FTSE 250 business, Informa saw revenue rise to £1.2bn, with a market capitalisation of more than £3bn.

As well as serving as a non-executive director, Rigby will also join the company’s remuneration committee, and takes up his role from April 1st.

Betfair chairman Gerald Corbett said that Rigby would bring a “wealth of experience” in building and managing a large public company to the operator and welcomed him to the board.

“I am delighted to be joining Betfair at this time and look forward to working with the Board and the management team in the future growth of [the company],” Rigby commented.

In related news, Mike McTighe and Fru Hazlitt are to retire as non-executive directors and will leave the board on March 31st.

McTighe was first appointed senior independent director in 2008, and has served on a number of committees, chairing the remuneration committee. He also served on the audit and nomination committees. Before joining the company he worked in the telecommunications sector, holding senior roles for the likes of electronics giant Philips and mobile phone manufacturer Motorola.

Hazlitt was appointed a director of The Sporting Exchange Ltd, which merged with to form Betfair, in 2005 and became a non-executive director of the operator when it was incorporated in 2008.

She currently serves as managing director of commercial for broadcaster ITV, and was previously CEO of Virgin Radio. Hazlitt also chaired Betfair’s corporate responsibility committee, and was a member of the nomination and remuneration committees.

Commenting on Hazlitt and McTighe’s departures, Corbett said: “Mike and Fru have both made immense contributions to the development of Betfair over many years. We wish them well, and thank them both for what they have done.”

Following the pair’s departure Betfair has made a number of changes to the membership of its supervisory committees.

From March 31st, Ian Dyson, who also replaces McTighe as senior independent director, joins the nomination committee, and will continue as chair of the audit committee.

Leo Quinn, who joined the board on March 5th this year, replaces McTighe as remuneration committee chairman, and also joins the nomination committee. He will be joined on the remuneration committee by fellow non-executive director Peter Jackson.

Corbett, meanwhile, will replace Hazlitt as chair of the corporate responsibility committee.