The UK’s Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport has appointed three new Gambling Commissioners to the gaming regulator’s board.

Alison Hastings, Trevor Pearce CBE, and Jonathan Scott have all been appointed as Gambling Commissioners by Culture Secretary Sajid Javid.

Hastings is a non-executive director and vice president of the British Board of Film Classification, a Press Complaints Commissioner, a non-executive director of Clatterbridge Cancer Centre, a board member of Durham University, and until recently the BBC Trustee for England. Her term of appointment will begin on May 1st and runs for four years.

Pearce is the director of Special Investigations at the National Crime Agency and formerly director of Investigations and Economic Crime at the National Crime Agency. He has previously been COE of the Serious Organised Crime Agency and chief constable of the National Crime Squad. His term of appointment begins on July 1st and is also for four years.

Scott is retiring senior partner and chair at Herbert Smith Freehills. He has extensive high level experience of the gambling sector and competition law, having advised on mergers within the industry, and of governance and regulation. His term of appointment will begin on May 1st and is for five years.

The Gambling Commission currently has ten Commissioners including chairman Philip Graf and CEO Jenny Williams, and serve to ensure that the regulator exercises its functions under current legislation in pursuit of the licensing objectives.


GIQ Magazine Digital Edition