Spain's national lottery, Loterías y Apuestas del Estado (LAE), has signed as sponsor of the country's major multi-stage cycling race La Vuelta a España for a fifth consecutive year.

The agreement will see LAE sponsor the mountain stage of the race's 2016 edition, which will take place from August 20th to September 11th, with LAE's logo appearing on competitors' jerseys during the stage. 

The Vuelta a España or Tour of Spain is an annual multiple stage bicycle race primarily held in Spain, while also occasionally making passes through nearby countries. Inspired by the success of the Giro d'Italia and the Tour de France, the race was first organized in 1935.

The mountains classification in the event is a secondary classification in the race. For this classification, points are given to the cyclists who cross a number of mountain peaks first. The leader in the mountain classification wears a white jersey with blue dots and is awarded the Grand Premier de Montaña.

This will be the fifth consecutive year that LAE has sponsored the mountain classification. In 2012, the classification was won by Australian Simon Clarke, followed by Nicolas Edet in 2013, and Luis Leon Sanchez in 2014. Last year, it was Omar Fraile who won the coveted polka dot jersey and the Grand Prix.

The Vuelta, which celebrates its 71st edition this year, will comprise 21 stages of which 12 cross medium and high mountains. In total the race will be contested over 3,277 kilometres and through 51 mountain passes.


GIQ Magazine Digital Edition