Britain’s Minister for Sport and Tourism Hugh Robertson has appointed two new members to the UK Gambling Commission, both of whom are already commissioners of the National Lottery Commission.

Mary Chapman and Robert Foster will take on their new roles from April 1st until January 13st 2016 and March 31st 2014 respectively.

Foster was appointed as a National Lottery Commissioner in April 2005 and was chairman of the Project Board which was responsible for overseeing the licence competition and transition.

He was chief executive of the Competition Commission until September 2004, and has also held a number of senior posts in Whitehall including responsibility for the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills’ innovation expenditure and science policy in the Cabinet Office.

Chapman was appointed to the National Lottery Commission in January 2008, while she also serves as chair of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Commission’s Regulating with Excellence Reference Group.

She was formerly chief executive of the Chartered Management Institute and the founding chief executive of Investors in People UK. Her earlier career was in marketing and general management with L’OREAL UK Group companies.

Both Chapman and Foster are also commissioners of the UK’s National Lottery Commission. They will continue to hold these public appointments until the functions of the National Lottery Commission are merged with those of the Gambling Commission which is expected to occur in August 2013, subject to the approval of Parliament.

The Gambling Commission now has eight commissioners including chairman Philip Graf and CEO Jenny Williams. Other Commissioners include Robin Dahlberg, Rachel Lampard, Anthony Lilley, Walter Merricks, Graham Sharp, and Peter Teague.


GIQ Magazine